Skip to content

Cartoon Black History: Voltron

January 13, 2011

I LOVE cartoons. There are some cartoon characters, however, that had to “pass” in order to get respected in the business. I have been asked to speak for them so their legacy in the black cartoon community may live on.

First on that list is a personal favorite of mine. Voltron.

Look at him defend our universe! But Voltron still wouldn’t have been given that sword if “they” knew he was black. Want proof? I present to you Exhibit A:

Voltron is made up of five lions. Lions are mostly found in Africa. Damn straight! A lion is one of the Africaniest things you can be. Multiply that by five and you’ve got yourself one black ass robot. But there’s more. Exhibit B:

Yup. A bunch of white folks take Voltron out of Africa and make him do stuff against his will. Shocking, isn’t it? Nope. Check out Exhibit C:

Voltron has a shoe deal with Reebok. Not Ultraman… not Gobots… Voltron! But the last piece of evidence is what will prove my hypothesis beyond a shadow of a doubt. Exhibit D:

LOOK AT HIS DAMN LIPS!!!! Voltron was black. Case closed.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. jajamorgan permalink
    January 14, 2011 6:28 pm

    I am a believer lol

  2. February 9, 2011 12:51 pm

    Lol. Voltron was black. Classic.

  3. April 12, 2011 9:41 am

    I’m sorry but i have to say that what you are claiming is retarded. 80′ cartoons were not about racism, or violence – they were about good story, good character building and entertainment. Todays kids are crippled by retarded “action” toons such as Ben 10, that inhibits any creative thinking or logic, because everything that happens in those cartoons – happens for no apparent reason. No character development, no feasible story line – no nothing that would support a decision a character makes – whereas the oldies of the 80′ had enough drama and action in them so as to ensure that the viewer understands why a particular decision is made. my 0.02$

    • April 12, 2011 10:49 am

      I guess you missed the fact that this is all jokes. I don’t really think Voltron is a black man because Voltron is a cartoon robot. With that said, there was latent racism and intense violence in many of the cartoons in our era. Yosemite Sam shot characters in the face, Tom and Jerry tried to murder each other, and don’t even get me started on Mr. Popo from Dragonball Z. But it’s neither here nor there as I was just being comical by taking things into account most people didn’t. Maybe it will seem funnier now that you know I wasn’t being serious.I appreciate your input, but I promise, I was just kidding.

  4. Akin permalink
    May 10, 2012 1:51 pm

    Great perspective man, really loved it, I laughed like hell. Voltron… Negro, good one…lolz.

    • May 10, 2012 4:30 pm

      LOL Thanks! That was my first Cartoon Black History ever. I did 1 a week for a year. So there are 51 others if you ever need a laugh.

Leave a Reply

