Skip to content

Lupe Fiasco is Made of Ass Particulates

June 14, 2011

Lupe Fiasco recently had an interview with CBS. Watch this first:

In lieu of this interview, I wanted to repost something I wrote on Facebook on November 21, 2008. Nothing has been changed so any dated material must be noted. Also, there’s harsher language than I am used to using on this blog. Please be mindful of that and excuse it accordingly. Enjoy.

Lupe Fiasco is Made of Ass Particulates

First of all, let me start by saying I don’t give a fuck.

I’m not even going to spend too much time on the music aspect of this cat because that’s not really what this is about. But I will say this: There are times when I think he’s interesting and times I think he’s clever, but I’ve never thought of him as sweet. Daydreamin’ didn’t need him in it at all. That was Jill Scott’s song. The song where he made burger references was very witty. But I’ve personally never had a “That song is out cold” moment. Plus, songs that go over the brightest people’s heads do not a good track make, if you ask me. Example…Dumb It Down is a complete and utter waste of time. Outside of the hooks, it was 48 bars of pure nonsense that no one (should) cares about. And to put it out as a single to promote the album is why some of us are forced to wonder, as Dr. Illingsworth put it, “Is this guy playing a joke on us?” So I think he’s alright at best, but who cares what I think?! And we will get back to not caring about what people think later.

My problem with Lupe Fiasco is that he is what Katt Williams referred to as a “smart, dumb nigga.” And oddly enough, there seem to be a lot of those that rap AND come from Chicago. On a smaller scale, there’s a song by Common which contains the line “I found the new Premo,” in reference to Kanye West. Which is awfully blasphemous. And Kanye West could have a smart, dumb nigga shrine erected in his honor. But Lupe has been out here taking the cake lately. Especially when it comes to politics. When Clinton was still in the race, he said:

“I’m not voting for anybody. I don’t believe in voting on that level [the primaries]. But I want Hillary to win. Obama doesn’t really impress me like that. It’s not a shot at him but some of his agendas, the bombing of Iran and all that stuff. He ain’t gonna do nothing but perpetuate the nonsense that all the Presidents before have done, and what Bush is doing now. It’s to the point now where the world is so twisted and so messed up that we need somebody to come in.”

What the hell is this guy talking about? Barack Obama never said anything about bombing Iran…ever. So in the words of the Spirit of Truth, “If you don’t know shit to speak on, on some topic I’m bringin’ up, shut yo’ god damn ass up.” It’s just that plain and simple. If you have no idea what you’re talking about and there are people that love and respect you to the point that they’ll listen to and do whatever you say, just elect to shut up. Not having an opinion has ALWAYS been better than giving a stupid one. But maybe he was mistaken and had a gaffe of his own during the election season.

So here it is November 5. A day after one of the most historic events in American history. Big Tigger interviews one of Chicago’s finest in Lupe Fiasco because, after all, it’s a great day for Chicago, too. So he talks about how nice it is in Chicago now, getting to see Obama play basketball, and whatever have you. Then he says “I’ll probably catch flack for this…the acceptance speech of Barack Obama last night, it didn’t move me…AT ALL. What moved me was when they showed Jesse Jackson [referring to when Jackson was crying after Obama’s election was announced]…” This dude is a dick. Feeling that way about the speech is fine. But, again, there are some times when the best road to take is Shut The Fuck Up Lane which intersects at Nobody Gives A Damn What You Think Boulevard. How obnoxious do you have to be as a star to think listeners should give two shits about how uninspiring a black male’s acceptance speech for presidency is to you? You’re unimportant. You’re not even on Obama’s list of favorite rappers yet he didn’t say anything about how Kick Push never got a rise out of him. So next time you’re on a nationally syndicated radio show, and you start a sentence by saying, “I’ll probably catch flack for this,” it may be a good idea to just not say it.

Secondly, he was more inspired by Jesse Jackson, the man that not only wants to cut off Obama’s nuts, but has, in some ways, been on an assault to bring Lupe’s craft to an end. So Lupe Fiasco is conducting the smart, dumb nigga train that is barreling through the streets of Chicago at breakneck speeds, destroying everything in it’s way right now… but I know he’s all of you ladies’ favorite, so act like you didn’t see this.

Thank goodness this picture isn't in high quality or all you would see is shards of shit!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2011 3:37 pm

    i love it lol…ive always been a lupe fan but my boyfriend has been opening my eyes a little bit to be more open minded and this was def a good read, def very eye opening. after his latest move of going mainstream ive definitely been more open minded to seeing the bullshit, so thank you for this awesome read.

    here’s my faaaaaaaaaaaavvvv quote

    “Not having an opinion has ALWAYS been better than giving a stupid one.”

    • June 14, 2011 10:27 pm

      I’m glad to have helped! I’m not trying to hate, I just want him to be quiet. He can make as much par-for-the-course music as he wants. But he should use words outside of rap… he should be a hip hop monk lol.

  2. June 14, 2011 10:19 pm

    I remember when you first posted this and the tears roling down my face laughing at the awesome truthiness of it were genuine. I’m a little bit more of a fan of his music than you are, but I’mma need this cat to shut what we call the fuck up about anything political. He reminds me of these MFers who fancy themselves as great journalists and spout out a bunch of multi-syllabic words in their stories only to find out that they don’t know WTF 2/3s of it means. The ass particulates are in abundance.

    • June 14, 2011 10:30 pm

      LOL YES! Talk about history repeating itself. I wish he’d learn from his mistakes and avoid recording devices of any kind lol.

      • tradbarton permalink
        October 11, 2011 10:13 pm

        This guy used to be my favorite rapper, but after this not anymore. Lupe may be good as a rapper. As a person however, he is a 100% ASSHOLE

      • October 12, 2011 5:58 am

        I can do nothing but agree, my friend.

  3. Tradaddus Barton permalink
    November 2, 2011 11:46 am

    Follow up to my comment, I lost all respect for him when he made those ignorant comments. I threw away all his cds and mixtapes. What the hell is this guy thinking? Has he gone off the deep end? I just don’t know how ANYONE can believe a word that comes out of his mouth. This guy is a dumbass

    • November 2, 2011 2:29 pm

      And all he had to do was rap and shut up to avoid that. It’s too bad.

      • tradbarton permalink
        November 9, 2011 10:17 am

        Rufio, I take back my previous comments. I decided to let go of the grudge I had and start back listening to him. Don’t get me wrong, I still don’t agree with some of the stuff he said. He is one hell of a rapper, He just needs to just stick to rap so people don’t think he is a jackass. I hope you understand.

      • November 9, 2011 2:56 pm

        LOL I understand completely! You have done me no wrong. It’s so much crap music out here, I’m glad you can appreciate what he does. I’m just straight on it.

Leave a Reply

