Skip to content

A Decade Ago…

September 11, 2011

I was walking to class. It was my sophomore year at Michigan State University. I sat down. I noticed my professor in front of the podium looking a bit sullen. I got my notebook out in preparation for class to begin. The professor waited for everyone to be seated before he spoke. He said something like “I don’t know if you’ve already heard, but a plane flew into the World Trade Center in New York. So go home and cut on the news.”

I was so confused that I thought it was some weird joke. All the way back to my dorm room, I didn’t understand what that cryptic message meant. When I finally made it back to the hall I stayed in, every television in the lobby showed the twin towers up in smoke. I took the elevator to my floor, went to my room and turned my TV on. 30 minutes to an hour after that is when I saw the towers fall. To this day, I’ve never seen anything like that before and hope to never have to experience it again.

News bylines and T-shirts popped up saying things like “We’ll Never Forget”, and oh how right they were. It’s not often I can tell you what I was doing today minus ten years. September 11th changed everything as we knew it. But nothing changed more drastically than the lives of the families who lost someone in this millennium’s most cowardly act. Some 3,650 or so days later, I only hope the families have found some peace and closure. I apologize for not knowing what else to say. I guess just keep people in your prayers. It’s a start.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

