Skip to content

#FuckRapFriday

November 18, 2011

Some weeks back I wrote an FRF about Luther Vandross and how my aunt, Valerie Pinkston, sang backup for him. If I wasn’t a dummy I would’ve expounded upon the group she was/is a part of for the following FRF. Well, it’s called Chapter 8. I was too young to know what they were doing, but they were doing it quite big. I BELIEVE they’re most known for I Just Wanna Be Your Girl (FUN FACT: Bone, Thugs -n- Harmony sampled that song for 1st of the Month) which was made prior to Anita Baker leaving the group. Aunt Val replaced Baker in Chapter 8 back in the early 80s. That may have been many moons ago, but she can still hit notes today’s R&B artists never knew existed. Although she’s primarily doing the back up singer thing, she’s also recently been on tour with Chapter 8 overseas. Check her out.

I think she sounds pretty outstanding on this.

This song is very awesome.

Anita Baker was originally on this track, but I think Ms. VP does the justice.

I said I’d never post four videos again after Queen. Then I remembered I can do what I want.

Love you, auntie… pay no attention to the title of this post. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

