Skip to content

Young Jeezy Is a Bag Overflowing with Scum

January 6, 2013

Hello, friends. I hope you’re enjoying 2013. Unfortunately I have to start my first post of the new year with a rant. I hope you’ll accept my apologies, but stupidity forces my need to write.

Sometimes my brother uses my iTunes account to buy songs/albums. They’re usually not tracks I gravitate to. He bought Young Jeezy’s TM:103 Hustlerz Ambition (yes, I realize I’m very late). Though I’d never buy that album for myself, Young Jeezy intrigues me. One day I decided I’d listen to the joints while doing stuff around the house… why the hell did I do that?

So the 3rd song is called OJ featuring a couple more Rocky Mountain Oysters named Fabolous and Jadakiss. I’ll spare you the details of the track and just fast forward to my point of contention: the last line of the chorus goes “Killin’ that white bitch/OJ”.

Sigh.

Whatever you think about OJ Simpson, the trial, etc is whatever you think about it and that’s fine. However, it’s really messed up that family members of Nicole Brown Simpson can’t be fans of rap/hip-hop because any of its ambassadors at any point in time may make a horrific lyric about their slain loved one. Nicole Brown Simpson is a murder victim. She didn’t do anything justifying being killed nor her killing be used in a sick metaphor. What part of being brutally stabbed to death makes you a “white bitch” exactly? Moreover, why is that okay?

I imagine if I wrote that line to finish my hook, I’d say to myself ‘You know what, Ruf, that’s not cool’ and figure out some different rhyming words. Young Jeezy, though… nope. I bet he didn’t have a second thought. How stingy can you be with your damns not to give one just from a standpoint of empathy? What kind of foolishness are consumers on where knowing he probably didn’t think twice about that line doesn’t act as a deterrent?

It’s cool, though. Go ahead and support these knuckle draggers no matter what they do. I’ll be over here waiting for you to get mad when Young Jeezy says something dumb like “I’ll take your kids out/Sandy Hook” and ask why you’re surprised.

Well isn't that nice.

Well isn’t that nice.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2013 5:05 pm

    Fuck that guy.

  2. March 4, 2013 5:12 pm

    Dude I never looked at it from her family’s perspective and how at any given time, she might be referenced in such a horrible way for no reason.

    • March 4, 2013 9:50 pm

      Yup, it’s not cool. And it’s also weird how that was fine but Lil Wayne invoking Emmitt Till was crossing the line. Humans are a strange bunch.

Leave a Reply

